Another word transformation

14 03 2008

I was sitting up last night, playing Amateur Surgeon on adult swim (great game!), and for some reason unknown to me heard the phrase “long time” followed by “milk bone.”

So for my own amusement I’m going to trace how I got from one to the other.

First, I think I changed long to nolg. I would have had to in order to get to the end result. So now we have:
nolg time

This can be categorized as:
[alveolar nasal] [short vowel] [liquid] [voiced velar plosive]
n o l g

[voiceless alveolar plosive] [long vowel] [bilabial nasal]
t i m

I’ve decided that the nasals must stay with their vowels and bring with them the voice features of the plosive but switch words and positions in that word. Where the no was before, mi will now be and vice versa. Also, because we are dealing with the m/n switch, and there is a t present, that t will have to change to a bilabial plosive. Because I say so. It’s all part of the pattern of the phrase and how I’m moving it. Using these rules, we now get:

[bilabial nasal] [short vowel] [liquid] [voiceless velar plosive]
m i l k

[voiced bilabial plosive] [long vowel] [alveolar nasal]
b o n

And, therefore, I changed long time into milk bone.

DISCLAIMER: Yet again, I mention that I don’t expect this to be interesting to anyone other than me. Hell, I don’t even expect it to make sense. But I’m trying to keep track of it and figure out the rules in my head. So if this is just excruciating for you to read, don’t ever read any post with the category “wordplay” and save yourself a lot of trouble.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

