Thinking of moving

13 04 2008

I went and looked at a house today that is being rented for $800 a month on the east side of town. This is a STEAL. It’s 3 bedroom, 1 bath, and it was built in the 1920s. There is a yard with a deck, a magnolia tree, a fig tree, a blooming cactus, and tons of windows. We can paint whatever we want to. All the appliances (washer, dryer, gas stove, fridge, electric lawn mower) stay.  There are the most beautiful windows throughout the house.  Only one room has carpet and it’s probably getting ripped out.  The rest of it is laminate wood floors and tile.  The yards are way private because of all the trees.  There are solar panels on the roof and 4 or 5 months out of the year the owner doesn’t even get an electric bill. It’s less than 5 miles from campus. It’s a block from a bus line. It’s closer to everywhere in town that I like to go, places that usually take me at least 30 minutes to drive to. It’s just over two blocks from where M lives, who I adore. I want this house.

I went and looked at it today and fell in love. I took C to it when she got off work and we are considering it. We’ve basically come to the decision that if I can line up money for the summer (either financial aid or a job) then we can do it. I should find out about financial aid sometime next week (I hope!) and then we can decide. If so, we’ll be moving at the end of May/beginning of June, not long after we return from our trip home to Louisiana. I’m nervous and excited . . . but I love this house to death. Wish me oodles of luck, darlings, cuz I need some.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

