Updates

3 08 2008

Let’s see, what has been going on here?  C is on a week-long graveyard shift which sucks more than anything.  However, between this round and her next bit where she’s back on days she gets 5 days off IN A ROW.  This is exciting, to be sure.  I have no clue what we’re going to do.  We have to do something because that much time together in the apartment will lead to arguments and eventual murder, I’m sure of it.  I really wish we had the money to go somewhere.  But, alas, we will have to find our fun in town.

What else . . . oh yes!  C has registered for classes in the upcoming semester to get started on her prerequisites for the PharmD program (the school you attend to become a pharmacist).  She got a business degree with several minors, which is great, but it doesn’t have enough of the science she needs.  So she’s taking classes at the community college which has everything she needs at a bargain price.  Seriously, $700 for 4 classes.  That’s a steal.  Especially considering how much my tuition is.

Me, I’m still researching.  It’s getting more difficult to feel motivated.  Especially with my sleep schedule being the way it is.  I honestly don’t go to bed until the sun comes up, sometimes not even then.  And then I only sleep for 4-5 hours in the hopes that I will be tired at night.  But I never am.  I mean, of course I’m TIRED, I just can’t sleep.

The program for the conference I’m presenting at in November was just put out and it was really nice to see my name.  Apparently next year the SCMLA conference will be held in Baton Rouge with a Katrina theme.  I’ll be done with school by then and won’t have a university affiliation, but I might present the Katrina/language thing I was kicking around.  It certainly seems like the right time and place, doesn’t it?

I think that’s it.  I haven’t cooked in a while, which is why there haven’t been any new recipes.  But I do plan on making smothered pork chops tomorrow.  I might post that.  Surely there is someone out there who doesn’t know how to do this, though I can’t imagine who that person may be.  At any rate, you’ll get to see me making a medium roux for the gravy.  Let’s see if I can manage to not horrifically burn myself this time!

Actions

Information

One response

4 08 2008
Bronie

i can probably smother a pork chop, but i’m not sure it’s in the way you intended. please post the recipe! 🙂

Leave a Reply

