Kale and sausage soup

14 08 2008

Tonight I went to M’s and she made this soup that was just completely amazing. So good, you would just die. It involved italian sausage, kale, onion, garlic, tomato, red pepper, chicken broth, and cream. Just think about all that for a second.

M took a picture of it and when she posts it, I’ll put it up here. This is HER recipe, but I was present for the kale stemming and helpful input, so I’m posting it here. Besides, she doesn’t have a recipe blog so I know she won’t mind. No toes being stepped on, no sir.

Anyway, chop one onion and 2-3 cloves of garlic. Sauté the onion and garlic in a soup pot in a bit of olive oil. Add salt, pepper, red pepper flakes, and marjoram (I think. I was sitting over at the bar for this). Add the sausage. She took it out of the casing and broke it up into chunks in the pot. Cook the sausage through. This ended up letting off a LOT of grease, so she drained it lest we die of coronary blockage up in her kitchen. Add the kale to the pot and let it wilt down a little bit. Add the chicken broth (I would say 3-4 cups, we needed a bit more than we had, I think) and diced tomatoes with the liquid. Let simmer for 15-20 minutes. Turn the heat down and add a bit of whipping cream, probably less than 1/4 cup. Heat through and serve with some grated parmesan on top.

So good!!! This soup was hearty and spicy and tasted a little like a tomato bisque with yummy chunky things in it. Totally a meal unto itself. I even got sent home with some and I’m looking forward to lunch tomorrow.

Revision: M informed that I neglected to mention that white wine also went into this, a healthy splash.  Duly noted, and thank you.

Also, here’s a picture of the soup!

Sausage and Kale Soup

Sausage and Kale Soup

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

