New words

19 08 2008

When I was a kid, I apparently thought a lot of myself.  Case in point, when I heard someone use a word I wasn’t familiar with, instead of wondering what it was or asking, I just thought they were really stupid.

Example 1
I’m 5 years old at girl scout camp and hear some mother say that it’s drizzling.  I’ve never heard this word.  I think she’s too stupid to know that it’s sprinkling.

Example 2
Age 6, I hear some friend refer to crayons as Crayolas.  I think she’s too stupid to know how to pronounce the word crayon.  Turns out, I had been using generic crayons (i.e. Prang, the worst crayons on the earth) since preschool.

I still have a massive yen for a giant box of Crayola, you know, with the endless colors and the sharpener in the side, because I was SO jealous of the kids that had them.  I’m an adult now, and I think I should probably just go and buy myself some crayons.  And a coloring book.

Actions

Information

3 responses

19 08 2008
Mom

You CAN’T be serious! I bought you that primo set of colored pencils when I could have just sprung for a non-generic box of crayons with a built-in sharpener?

19 08 2008
Sharon

That is a COMPLETELY different issue and you know it. For one, they are different mediums. And two, you HAD to buy me those pencils because you very meanly gave all mine away to neighbor children 10 years ago without asking me. Even if you HAD bought me crayons, I still would have demanded pencils. So there.

20 08 2008
Lisa

When I was a kid, I asked my grandmother for “colors” and she had no idea what I was talking about. Apparently, that’s a southern thing!

Leave a Reply

