3 years

29 08 2008

I realized with a start that today is the Katrina anniversary. Among hearing the plans of my friends and family for Gustav, I had forgotten. Last year it was quite vivid that it was THAT day. I had gotten my tattoo about 7 weeks before that and it was the first day of grad school. But it was still very clear to me that 2 years prior was the day the world seemed to end. Or my world, anyway. I have never experienced such upheaval, emotional or otherwise. And I can’t believe it was 3 years ago. It at once seems forever ago and just yesterday. It’s a strange feeling.

It’s true that I’m homesick and I don’t mind admitting it, but I really did have to get the hell out of town. Moving was the best thing that could have happened for me. I felt like I was getting pulled down into the emotional miasma that hovered over the cities. That level of despair, even small and under the surface, it was choking me.

And yet, I quite perversely miss worrying about the storms. Even as bad as the storms got or could have been, I never outgrew that little bit of excitement at an approaching storm. Even with remembering all the cleanup and inconvenience (Isisdore and Lily? Back to back? At my parents’ waterfront condo? Horrible!) I still felt a little giddy. Maybe I would feel differently if I were back home facing Gustav. Maybe the spectre of Katrina would have erased that. I don’t know.

Now, being in Austin, I’m one of the potential places for people to evacuate to. That’s a new feeling. I feel a little bad that our place is ill-equipped for this. We have 2 cats, one of which is on death’s door. This is not a place for dogs (every friend AND my parents seem to own at least one). So when I’m asked to put someone up (and I’ve gotten a few tentative requests), I have to say what we can and cannot handle. Never having been on this end of things, I’m not quite sure of the protocol.

What a weird anniversary to keep track of. Especially in light of the fact that on Monday, C and I will be celebrating our 9-year anniversary. That’s right, we celebrated our 6th while on the road from N. Louisiana to Florida in the most winding, gas-deprived trip of our life following Katrina.

Anyway, happy (or not) Katrina day, everybody.

Actions

Information

3 responses

29 08 2008
Mrs. Humphrey

Tell them we can watch 2-3 dogs as long as they get along well with other pups. Plus, we have a guestroom and as long as you vouch for them then I am sure they will be cool 😀

29 08 2008
Lisa

I think it’s adding to the worry concerning Gustav that 3 years ago today Katrina hit. I know, at least for me, I am more worried and concerned. I can totally relate to that small feeling of excitement before. Now, I don’t have it. I contributed my worrying to being older, but when I read your blog, I realized that it was Katrina’s shadow. I mean, the night before Katrina hit, we were playing Trivial Pursuit at our house in BR with our parents, making my dad take shots of Crown b/c he didn’t know what “gay-dar” was. Somehow, if he comes this time, I don’t think we’ll be doing that.
I don’t know…just some ramblings. Thanks for blogging. I can relate when I read your blogs.

29 08 2008
Mom

Anniversary-schmanniversary: I called your handicapped brother’s group home at 9:30 this morning to make sure they had our correct home and cell phone numbers in case they were going to evacuate, and was told they were, in fact departing for Alexandria within the next 90 minutes! So I also got as many cell numbers as I could for their staff members and then I asked for the name of the person I was talking to…and it was…KATRINA!!!

Then I hung up and remembered 3 years ago when we didn’t know where John was evacuated to for 4 weeks and he didn’t return to the area for another 2 weeks, and I had a mini-meltdown, and suddenly I HAD TO SEE HIM. Luckily my coworker came in on 5 minutes’ notice (yay Ro!) on her day off to cover for me and your father swooped in and we made it to the West Bank in 40 minutes and said goodbye to him on the bus.

But this deja’ vu business is not a good vibe, not at all, look how it’s making me type crazy-like!!

Leave a Reply

