Asking too much

23 10 2008

I’m willing to teeter-totter, but I won’t see Saw.

Yeah, that’s just me being stupid.  Seriously though, C keeps begging me to go to the movies to watch Saw V.  I’m not doing it.  I watched the first one and thought it was just gross.  Parts of it were funny, like when Cary Elwes detached his own foot and threw it across the room with a kind of “ARGHUHNNN” noise/grunt.  But other than that, I couldn’t stand it.  And I can’t believe that a fourth sequel is coming out.

This is the thing: I don’t mind scary movies.  In fact, I kind of like them.  But I don’t enjoy gore.  That’s not scary, it’s just disgusting.  Feeling nauseated is not the same as being frightened, unless you have a phobia about throwing up.  C thinks I’m crazy for not seeing the movie—I think she’s deranged for wanting to pay money for it.  Anyone willing to go with her to see it?  Because I’m not budging on this one.

Actions

Information

5 responses

23 10 2008
Bronie

I agree with you, and good for you for sticking to your guns on this one. Gore is not the same as a scary movie unless we’re talking about Al. That’s another comment entirely. Anyway, good for you.

By the way, if you change your mind, you can always rent it when you’re in town and watch it with your mom, who will no doubt laugh her head off during the entire film which is somehow frightening in its own rite and completely disarming. Maybe that’s how this particular genre should be viewed… something to think about.

23 10 2008
Connie

Oh Bronie, YOU’RE the secret fan of the gory movies who do away with body parts willy-nilly, as evidenced by your own comment:

“laugh her head off”

“completely disarming”

Maybe the Saw director will remake “My Left Foot” starring Cary Elwes just for fans like you and C!!!

24 10 2008
Bronie

ooohhh, very good miss thang. how long did it take you to compose such a witty response? impressive.

25 10 2008
Connie

Well, it didn’t take long to compose, notice that it occurred after, TA-DA, 9 PM!!!!

But I missed your final nod to the slasher film category which you obviously venerate:

“frightening in its own rite”

Therefore, you can join the popcorn party when the movie is rented and we’ll send jimbeaux to watch the Saints or play Wii at your house!

27 10 2008
Gloria

DITTO. I HAVE NOT WATCHED ANY NOR DO I HAVE ANY DESIRE TO SEE ANY OF THE SAW MOVIES. THAT WHOLE THING IS JUST ANNOYING. THAT “MY LEFT FOOT” THING SOUNDS FUNNY!! LOL

Leave a Reply

