Good news!

23 02 2009

Not sure if I went into this in a previous post, but C’s financial aid for this semester didn’t come through due to a bullshit reason involving academic bureaucracy.  Money has been super tight around here for the last month.  She paid tuition and books out of pocket and picked up an extra shift at work.  That put her working 40 hours a week (4 days) and in class the other three days (11 hours).  Suffice to say, we don’t see each other except for maybe 3 solid hours per week (not including when she sleeps next to me and snores).

But oh frabjous day!  She found out tonight that her financial aid has come through!  For now, she’s keeping the extra shift at work just to build a cushion.  But if she has to schedule herself for one shift less around tests or whatever, she won’t have to take a vacation day and the drop in money won’t kill her.  And this means there shouldn’t be any problems with financial aid over the summer, so she’ll be staying in school straight through.

This is all great because now she can get her prerequisites out of the way sooner and get into a PharmD program.  Which, in itself, is a 4-year commitment.  But the payoff will be great.

Speaking of the PharmD, who knows where we’ll end up for that?  If she wants to do it at UT, that’s fine with me.  But I’m still open to her going to Xavier and moving us back to New Orleans for a while.  After that, who knows where we might land?  I vote Oregon.  Not that I’ve even visited, but it sounds nice.

Now if we can just find me a job come June, life will be going really well.  I don’t care if it’s going back to clerical, I’m just gonna need a paycheck.

Actions

Information

3 responses

23 02 2009
Connie

Do they have crawfish in Oregon? Snap out of it!!!

24 02 2009
Sharon

NO, but we would live near or on the coast, which guarantees 1) water and 2) fresh seafood of some sort. So there!

24 02 2009
Nancy

As someone FROM Oregon, I can tell you that they DO have crawfish. Apparently, a town called Newport (far north coast) was the site of a family crawfish…hunt…when I was about three. I do not recall the incident, but I remember my father talking about it for the rest of my life.

My hometown, Brookings, was a fishing town and my home was on the best fishing hole on the entire Chetco River. We could get crab, halibut and everything else, fresh off the boat. As a result, I detest fish.

But Oregon…oh, if only they had industries other than logging and fishing in my hometown…the weather was perfection.

My hometown paper still publishes the police report – on Saturday:

* Found property, 7:46 p.m.: Keys found at the post office.

* Suspicious conditions, 11:46 a.m.: A Brookings man in the 200 block of Marine Street was using someone else’s post office box address.

* Theft of services, 6:16 p.m.: A man in the 200 block of Tanbark Road reported mail in his trash can that was not his. The mail was discovered to be stolen from several mail boxes on High Noon Road. The mail was returned to the post office for redelivery.

* Disorderly conduct, 7:29 p.m.: A verbal dispute between two parents turned disorderly during high school basketball game.

Leave a Reply

