What now?

31 03 2009

Over the last 2 weeks, I’ve been going to the doctor.  Firstly, I wanted to talk about symptoms of black mold poisoning (still no word on the apartment situation as of yet).  But I also wanted to get a full checkup and bloodwork done for a few reasons.

First off, I have been suffering from Polycystic Ovarian Syndrome for a long time now.  The pain has gotten worse and worse and there are new treatments being explored these days for that.

Secondly, PCOS can go hand in hand with diabetes and insulin resistance.  My mother was recently diagnosed as diabetic and my grandmother was diabetic so . . . I’m definitely a contender.

So I got blood work done.  Blood sugar fine, but the insulin is abnormally high.  The next step was to take a glucose tolerance test.  It wasn’t the worst thing to ever do but ooh, not at all pleasant either.  Basically, I had to make like a Gremlin and not eat after midnight.  Then first thing in the morning I headed to the doctor’s office where I had to drink 10 ounces (in 5 minutes) of something that tasted like a flat orange soda with 5 times the amount of sugar in it and then hang out for 2 hours while they took blood samples at 1 and 2 hour intervals.

Wow.  Holy shit.  Within 30 minutes I felt drunk and kind of sick from the biggest sugar high ever.  It was kind of gross.  By the time I drove home I was wasted.  I was instructed to eat lots of protein all day and take it easy.  Upon my arrival home, C presented me with scrambled cheddar eggs and some sausage.

Anyway, they called yesterday and said that the glucose test was normal, and I’m going in tomorrow for a consultation with the doctor.  I want to go over the blood test results, ask questions, and talk about the possibility of insulin resistance, along with some questions about PCOS treatment.

Also, just because of my proclivity to insulin nonsense and diabetes, I’ve started on a low glycemic index diet, which is going really well.  Much better than I could have ever expected.

And that’s where I’m at!  Already feeling the positive effects of the food change and exercise, which is great.  But nervous about whether or not any  medication will be suggested or necessary.  Wish me luck tomorrow!

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

