Finally!

8 04 2009

It finally happened, I got a second reader.

For those of you not in the know with academic bullshit, I need at least two readers for my Master’s thesis in order to graduate.  I’ve had a first reader in the bag for months now, but no one, and I mean NO ONE else in my department was remotely interested in what I’m doing.

What I’m doing, by the way, is a musical/phonological analysis of poetry by Langston Hughes.  Same thing I presented at the conference back in November.  And, gosh, my phonology, syntax, semantics, and sociolinguistics professors just weren’t interested in this metrics stuff.

So my advisor and first reader, M, actually started shopping around the department for me.  Which is really sweet.  And yesterday morning I had a meeting with a professor and he agreed to be my second reader!!  He claims to be fascinated by what I’m doing, but warned me that he doesn’t know exactly what I’m talking about.  My response: “Great! That means you can call me out if I don’t explain something clearly.”

He’s very cool, he already gave me great suggestions, and he’s fine with me submitting in the summer.  And he really likes some of the ideas I have for further-reaching applications of this music notation method that I’m using.  So double yay.

Actions

Information

5 responses

9 04 2009
Lisa

That’s awesome! Why am I not surprised you’re doing something with Langston Hughes?

9 04 2009
Sharon

Haha. You know, I think I even did a long paper back in high school on Hughes. Guess it’s an obsession that stuck.

9 04 2009
Lisa

Pretty sure you did…I’m almost positive I did too, junior year, I think. We’re doing poetry now with the kids, and I suggested several look up poems by him to analyze for figurative language….I guess some stuff did stick. =)

9 04 2009
Sharon

OOOH, what grade do you teach again? If you need/want any suggestions on poetry or language stuff, please let me know. I would love to know what you’re doing with them, regardless!
<— Such a literature and poetry dork.

13 04 2009
Nancy

I’m so glad for you! Congratulations, and good luck!

Leave a Reply

