Bittersweet

6 05 2009

This semester is almost over.  I have one more semester left, since I decided to submit my thesis in the summer. But I don’t really have to be on campus ever again after Friday.

That feels weird.  And maybe I’ll never do anything with all this, but I’m so glad I went back to school.  I wanted to do it, and if I never had done it I would have been curious and full of regret forever.  Plus, it let me know without a doubt that I don’t want to be a professor.  It took 2 years of being entrenched in academia to realize that I don’t want to stay there.  It’s more political and cutthroat than I want to deal with for a career, and I think I would quickly burn out.

All that being said, I’ve had a great time.  I get to research and write my thesis on what is most fascinating to me. I enjoy it thoroughly!  Going back to school got C and I to move to Austin, which I love.  We were so in need of a change and we really did need to move.  C is back in school now and working toward her own career goals, which is great.

I’m going to miss grad school a little bit. And cleaning out my cubicle Friday will feel a little strange.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

