It’s almost time!

19 05 2009

That’s right, the end of May is here and it’s time for my trek home to Louisiana.  I will gorge myself on seafood and daquiris.  I will swim in my parents’ pool and play with the dog.  I will go to the store to buy Blue Plate mayonnaise and grits to bring home. Oh baby. It will be good.

A is coming to Slidell from Lafayette to see me, which makes me very happy.  I haven’t seen her in almost 1 1/2 years, which is just bad and wrong.

And what might be the best part, my mother is cleaning out her tub.

No, really, that’s a bigger deal than you might think.  My parents have this big old garden tub, which makes me jealous because the tub at our apartment is just . . . it hurts my feelings.  I love baths but the discomfort of our tiny tub just isn’t worth it.  Baths become anti-relaxing in it and cause more stress than I was trying to relieve in the first place.  It’s even worse that my parents have this fantastic tub and don’t even use it.  Ever.  To the point that it is filled with boxes and random junk.  I called my mother a month ago and requested that the tub be cleaned out so I can take a real bath, please oh please, that can be my birthday present.  And she might be doing it tonight.  I also requested before and after pictures because I think it might be hard for some of you to believe the state of this tub.  I want proof.

What else . . . H found the infamous silver flip flop serving tray and threatened to give it to me as a birthday present.   I told her I would laugh hysterically and then whap her soundly about the head with it.  I do want to see it though, and perhaps it would be fun to serve food on it while I’m in town.

We have a cat-sitter lined up, M’s boyfriend has graciously agreed to come and check on Maya while we’re gone and let us know if any weird notices from the apartment get posted on our door.  Because, seriously, we’ve received things like “‘We will be working on the parking lot tomorrow. If your car isn’t moved elsewhere by 7 am, we will have it towed.”  Thank for the warning, jackasses!  That makes me nervous about going out of town, coming home to find a missing car.

Two days after we get home, C is flying to Florida to see her brother and his family.  As usual, I will miss her terribly when she’s gone, but here’s hoping I can find a mild form of trouble/entertainment in her absence.

Also, I will be bringing crawfish home again this year, which results in a pot of corn and crawfish bisque.  Any Austin folk who want to share in this are more than welcome.  But it might have to wait until C gets back from Florida, lest she kill me for making something that good and not leaving any.

Actions

Information

2 responses

21 05 2009
Connie

you are SO lucky, there’s a low in the Gulf coming from Florida and it’s already getting to be that good kind of humid with a breeze…should last thru Sunday at least

31 05 2009
Bronie

oh the tub… it was indeed a sight to behold.

Leave a Reply

