Aiding desperation

26 07 2009

Even though I’ve lived in Texas for just over 2 years now, I have yet to change my cell phone number.  Not that this is the point, I’m just saying.

This afternoon, I received a text message:

“this ace? *l&k, denise*”

I don’t actually know what that means, but I ignored it.

10 minutes later, my phone rings.

Me: Hello?
Female caller: Hellooo.
Me: Um, hello?
FC: Hi, who is this?
Me: (I really hate when people call ME and then instead of identifying themselves, ask who I am). Who are you looking for?
FC: Well, this is the deal. I accidentally gave this guy your number instead of mine.
Me: Uh huh.
FC: Has anyone called you?
Me: No. Bye!
FC: WAIT!!
Me: What.
FC: If a guy calls you asking for Brooke, could you give him this number and ask him to call me?
Me: Are you kidding me?
FC: Just give him this number. You’re sure a guy hasn’t called you?
Me: (laughing before I hang up)

Oh please, now I’m a dating/answering service? No way. No way in hell, lady.

UPDATE: It’s 12:33 a.m. C just got home and I was relating this tale to her. Suddenly, my phone rings! C says, “I bet it’s the guy!”
I answer, lo and behold a guy asks if Brooke is there. “Wrong number!! CLICK.”

C says if he calls again I should answer “Brookview Convent, may I help you? Oh, I’m sorry, she’s taking her vows right now, not only of chastity but also silence. You should have called earlier today. Go with God!”

FUTHER UPDATE, Monday: The same girl starts calling my phone today. Like 10 times, seriously. I don’t answer. Finally, she texts me.

“Hi i talked to you yesterday about a number callin u…has anyone called you yet???”

I respond, because I am sick and tired of this shit: “You have got to be kidding me. I’m not your answering service. Stop contacting me.”

Which prompts this from her: “Umm there really is no need to get rude…i was just asking u a simple question & yesterday you could hv told me u didnt want to…obviously u having some damn problems today…but no problem dude. — ima be aiight.”

Can you even believe this? Is this actually my life? YOU IMPERTINENT LITTLE TWIT SHIT. Really now, I am shocked at the behavior of some people.  Soon after that, she started calling me again so I wisely blocked the number. People are WEIRD, man. But I’m absolutely thrilled to know she’ll be “aiight.” Tiny little idiot.

Actions

Information

5 responses

26 07 2009
Lisa

That is hilarious!!! How does she know she accidentally gave your number? Does she remember doing it in her drunken state?

PS- I didn’t change my # to a BR one until about 2 yrs after I moved here. What’s the point?

27 07 2009
Anna von Beaverplatz

Seriously?! Who the hell does that?! You should ask her if she loves Twilight, I bet she loves Twilight.

What a little twatwaffle! Can you block both of the numbers? I don’t know if that can be done, can it? Ugh. Asshat. These kids today!

28 07 2009
Lisa

So I was telling my sister about this while getting my hair done today (she’s a stylist? hairdresser? I don’t know the correct term). She started laughing so hard she had to quit coloring my hair. 🙂 I know I’ve gotten weird calls in the past,- I think a drug dealer had my old number before me- but I really think this is the best ever.

Ah, the misguided youth…

31 07 2009
Nola

Oh, the restraint you showed in not texting back. OY VAY!

10 08 2009
me

you’re such a bitch! why wouldn’t you give him the # ??

Leave a Reply

