Song in my head

3 08 2009

Last week I saw (500) Days of Summer on two separate occasions. Once with M, and the second time with C because she wanted to go to the movies, she’s never on remotely the same schedule as my friends, and almost everything else that was playing was either not interesting, at the wrong time, or we had already seen it.

Have I mentioned I go to the movies a lot?

I’ve already mentioned this in a Pajiba thread, but I didn’t like (500) Days of Summer the first time I saw it.  Wait, that’s not true, I liked it okay but I didn’t love it and the more I thought about it the less I liked it. But then I couldn’t stop thinking about it and by the time I saw it the second time, I fell in love a little.

Anyway, one song from the movie has been stuck in my head for a week now, “Sweet Disposition” by The Temper Trap.  Great song, and it took me a few minutes to figure out why it sounded familiar—the opening is similar to the opening riff of U2’s “Where the Streets Have No Name.”  Not that same, by any means, but similar in style.  It’s music that makes you want to walk or run around with a higher purpose and accomplish something. If it backed a scene in a movie, it would definitely be someone running off to find someone or something just in time to resolve the plot (most likely romantic). Urgency and need, that’s what I’m talking about here. With a splash of desperation.  Which sounds terrible on paper, but works really well otherwise.

Want to listen? Click here.

And if you want to see if you agree with me about the U2 similarity, click here.  Please keep in mind that the intro fades in and seems to take forever, so start paying attention around the 17-second mark.

And a question to any readers/commenters: Off the top of your head, can you think of or list any movie scenes with the U2 intro as music? I want to see if I’m right about which scene it would/has worked best for.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

