Get ready for some reading

13 10 2009

pajibrary card

Starting in November, I’ll be participating in Pajiba’s Cannonball Read, which has been changed this year from 100 books read in a year to 52.  Which means that when I read a book, I’m going to write and post a review of it on this here blog.

You might wonder what I’ll be reading.  Well, I always felt like a terrible English major for not reading certain classic books. This might help me take care of that.  I might go shopping at M’s house (really, she has a LOT of books) and see what interests me.  There have been some Shakespeare plays I always meant to get to, the ones that weren’t addressed in my classes. Who knows! But I’m really tired of reading research articles for my thesis. And I need something to do when I take a break other than watching old episodes of The Office or playing stupid games.

And if anyone has suggestions of books they love, please send them my way. You know how when you go to a bookstore or a library, every idea you ever had about books you wanted just flies away? That happens to me all the time. I don’t even know where to start, except by looking through my own bookcases and grabbing the stuff I’ve been ignoring for years. So help a girl out.

Actions

Information

6 responses

13 10 2009
MelBivDevoe

Ha, I don’t know what to read either! I have to start brainstorming.

13 10 2009
Doran

A Song of Ice And Fire! Do it! Now!

13 10 2009
Lisa

Ok, I know it’s cheesie, but I really like Anne Rivers Siddon when I’m going for light reading. Patron Saints was really good. The Elie Weisel (sp?) Night trilogy was awesome. I’ll go through my books and see what else I loved. I can probably come up with many suggestions for you. =)

13 10 2009
Lisa

Oh, and I’m going to do it too.

Oh great blog Yoda, how do I set one up?

13 10 2009
Sharon

I really like WordPress. Free and really easy to use. A lot of people I know use Blogger.com as well. Yay on joining the Cannonball Read!! I think if you want to officially do it, you can email . . . I forget who. The person who wrote the article on Pajiba, I guess. Nicole, that sounds right. I know their emails are at the end of the article. Or just do it to do it yourself, it’s great motivation, I think. Also, HI LISA!!

14 10 2009
Molly

Some suggestions off the top of my head:

Confederacy of Dunces, just because you haven’t read it. I know some folks believe it’s overrated crap, but they’re wrong.
The Brief Wonderous Life of Oscar Wao by Junot Diaz.
The Magus by John Fowles.
The Heart is a Lonely Hunter by Carson McCullers.
The Brothers K by David James Duncan.
Asleep by Banana Yoshimoto.
The Braindead Megaphone by George Saunders.

All of these — and hundreds more! — are available for borrowing. 🙂

Leave a Reply

