A day in the life

27 03 2010

So, so much has been going on that I don’t even have time to look at my poor neglected blog, much less write in it.

My job.  My job is awesome.  I got a promotion 2 months ago at work and I’m still loving it.  Yes, some things make me crazy and I work a lot and at weird hours but I LOVE it. I’m doing production metrics (kind of) and making training videos with Captivate 4.  I get so lost in work sometimes that hours fly by and then I get overtime.  So far this week I’ve worked 52 hours and I might work more this weekend if my boss doesn’t look like he might go crazy at getting a time sheet for over 60 hours.  We’ll see.

Of course, I’m still working there through the temp agency that hired me for the original job.  I’m really trying to bust ass and be impressive so they’ll offer me a real job one day.  It’s the Pinocchio approach to employment.

What else . . . I went home to Louisiana for a week for a couple of reasons.  The main reason was that my mom had some medical stuff happening, and my dad had a week-long job out of town.  I knew for a fact that woman wouldn’t be eating anything except Sonic and cold cereal, so I went home to help out and to cook.  And boy, did I cook.  Their freezer is filled with containers of a very good tomato vegetable soup.

I also went home to see my brother.  He’s been in the hospital for 5 weeks now due to complications from neglect at his home.  I won’t go into that too much except to say 1) I have a few “caretakers” to slap right in the face and 2) I got so upset seeing him in the hospital that C flew out from Austin after talking to me on the phone.  It was horrible and I hope things start looking up for him.  I felt like my heart was breaking.

And that’s it.  I don’t cook anymore, I don’t have fun.  I work and make money and hope that this leads to something good.  But I’m really happy.

Actions

Information

2 responses

27 03 2010
Connie

Just want to clarify that your brother was living in a GROUP home, so that exludes me from the caregivers you’d like to slap.

Thanks again for keeping me company and feeding me so well…besides the all-powerful soup there was lemon/garlic chicken, wilted spinach, tuna steak and, oh yeah, homemade granola!

Love, Mom

27 03 2010
Sharon

“Professional” caregivers (and I use that term as loosely as possible).

I bought spinach today and mushrooms and feta cheese. Omelets for days!!

Leave a Reply

